Eve Belisle wins Quebec women’s curling title, earns berth in nationals

Belisle wins Quebec women's curling title

Eve Belisle downed Marie-France Larouche 7-4 to win the Quebec women’s curling championship Sunday.

Belisle scored three in the second end and a deuce in the fifth for a 5-1 lead en route to the title.

Belisle, third Lauren Mann, second Trish Hill and Brittany O’Rourke curl out of the Glenmore Curling Club in Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, Que.

They join defending champion Chelsea Carey of Calgary, Yukon’s Sarah Koltun, Kerry Galusha of Northwest Territories and Geneva Chislett of Nunavut already in the Canadian women’s championship field Feb. 18-16 in St. Catharines, Ont.

The remaining 10 teams have yet to be determined via provincial championships.

Belisle skipped Quebec in the Scotties Tournament of Hearts in 2006 (7-4) and 2010 (5-6).

She won a tiebreaker before losing in the Page playoff game between the third and fourth seeds in 2006.

The Canadian Press

Canadian Press

We are experiencing technical difficulties with our commenting platform and hope to be up and running again soon. In the meantime, you can still send us your thoughts on Facebook or Twitter, or submit a letter to the editor.