Anne Evans presents Simone Myers with the Colleen Deakin Memorial Trophy. SONJA DRINKWATER PHOTO

Port Alberni Special Olympians awarded

Awards night recognized athletes, coaches, volunteers



Each year, Port Alberni’s Special Olympians and their coaches are recognized at an annual banquet at Echo Centre. The funding coordinator of the local Special Olympians Liz Riddalls emceed the event on Saturday, June 22.

Volunteers were honoured with pins that were given by Anne Evans. Heather Mollett, Wayne Bernard and Shelley Classon each received a five year pin. Linda Scobbie, Ghes Bailey, Darlene Grears, Roberto Tolfo, Trudy Knoll and Sandra Smith each received a 10 year pin. Kay Sharpe and Erma Hopkins each received a 20 year pin and Gerry Johnston, Barb VanZoeren, Donna Tassie and Thea Rehm each received a 35 year pin.

A newly formed Athletes Council—under the leadership of Simone Myers and guidance of Linda Scobbie and Barb Giesbrecht—voted for the following coaches to receive special awards: Sylvia Wallach and Jaci Gaetz (Bowling), Bill Scobbie (Curling) and Barb Van Zoeren (Floor Hockey).

For the 30th year, the Doug Waller memorial trophy for most improved swimmer was presented by Louise Waller. This year’s recipient was Lucus Bell.

The Colleen Deaken Memorial Trophy was presented to Simone Myers, and the Jim Rutherford Memorial Award for the Most Dedicated Volunteer was awarded to Katherine Taberner by Anne Evans, daughter of the late Jim Rutherford.

If you would like to be a coach, volunteer or a member of the organizing committee with Special Olympics, please call Anne at 250-724-2327.

Figure Skating:

Most Dedicated: Jamie Amos

Most Improved: Kari Trott

Best Sportsman: Matt MacDonald


Most Dedicated: Sebastien Thomas

Most Improved: MJ Dennis

Best Sportsman: Tyler VanKooten


Most Dedicated: Josh Watson

Most Improved: Lucus Bell

Best Sportsman: Richard Morgan


Most Dedicated: Michael Booth

Most Improved: Kim Geisbrecht

Best Sportsman: Simone Myers

Floor Hockey:

Most Dedicated: Andrew Geddes

Most Improved: Lee-Anne Billy

Best Sportsman: Branden Pater


Most Dedicated: Lee-Anne Billie

Most Improved: Gary Peters

Best Sportsman: Simone Myers


Most Dedicated: Joey Elgood

Most Improved: Ellen Akins

Best Sportsman: Charmaigne Johnson

Track and Field:

Most Dedicated: Joey Elgood and Sarah Riddalls

Most Improved: Ryan Golden

Best Sportsman: Sebastien Thomas


Most Dedicated: Simone Myers

Most Improved: Karly Kluserits

Best Sportsman: Jenna Domovich


Points — 62 — Avalanchers: Anthony Johnson, Lioba Rehm, Karly Kluserits and Michael Bouvette.

Pinfall—50,098—Star Strikers: Brad Cue, Ray Bouvette, Matthew MacDonald and Andrew Geddes.

Team Hi Three—2336—Alley Brats: Tyler VanKooten, Ariel Gust, Dakota Tate, Cheyenne Jokinen and Jade Vilandre.

Team Hi Single—819—Rollerballs: Ken Rudd, Louisa Johnny, Kim Ballan and Ken Tassie.

Ladies Hi Average—180: Jenna Domovich

Ladies Hi Three—599: Cheyenne Jokinen

Ladies Hi Single—274: Louisa Johnny

Men’s Hi Average—184: Michael Booth

Men’s Hi Three—676: Tyler VanKooten

Men’s Hi Single—285: Andrew Geddes.

Special Olympic Playoffs:

A Division +69 Alley Cats: Sebastien Thomas, Crystal Russeau, Dan Noble and Maurice Bernier.

B Division + 318 Alley Oops: Johah Noonan, Chris Schmitz, Richard Morgan and Taylor Atleo.

C Division +1 Alberni Bulldogs: Bryce VanKooten, Jolyn Watts, Brandi MacDonald and Myles Bernard.

D Division +170 Grizzlies: Cody Booth, Shea Lenihan, Wayne Frykas and Len Schwartz.

Special Awards:

Most Improved Averages—Brandi MacDonald started with 74 and ended with 91 +17 and Dakota Tate started with 99 and ended with 111 +12.

Hi/Low Doubles Winners were Maurice Bernier and Thomas Tatoosh.

Family Twosome winners were Karen Tassie and Donna Hedley with a score of 1394.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here


The newly formed Athletes Council and recipients of coaching awards. From left to right are Simone Myers, Lee-Anne Billie, Bill Scobbie, Cheyenne Jokinen, Sylvia Wallach, Kari Trott, Jaci Gaetz, Kim Geisbrecht, Sarah Riddalls and Mike Booth. SONJA DRINKWATER PHOTO

Louise Waller presents the Doug Waller Memorial trophy for most improved swimmer to Lucus Bell. To the right is Katherine Taberner (swimming coach). SONJA DRINKWATER PHOTO

Anne Evans presents Katherine Taberner with the Jim Rutherford Memorial Trophy for volunteerism. SONJA DRINKWATER PHOTO

All of the Special Olympians gather for a group shot at Echo Centre after the awards ceremony. SONJA DRINKWATER PHOTO

Just Posted

Smokey Port painted by D.F. Gray during the eighth annual Paint Out. (SUBMITTED PHOTO)
Port Alberni’s DRAW Gallery celebrates art online and in person

Fall in Love With Art! exhibit runs until Nov. 27

Mount Arrowsmith rises over the City of Port Alberni in its late summer splendour. (SUSAN QUINN/ Alberni Valley News)
More funding available through Alberni Valley Community Foundation

$30K available for charities responding to COVID-19; deadline is Oct. 30

Alberni District Secondary School principal Rob Souther, ADSS Breakfast Club Coordinator Melody Burton, Andrew Johns and employees William Dorr and Erika Salvino celebrate Johns’ donation of $5,000 to the breakfast club. (SONJA DRINKWATER/ Special to the AV News)
SCENE AND HEARD: Feeding Alberni Valley residents one dollar at a time

Local organizations benefit from charitable donations

FILE – Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry answers questions during a press conference to update on the province’s fall pandemic preparedness plan from the press theatre at Legislature in Victoria, Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
B.C. sees record-breaking daily COVID infections with 499 new cases over weekend

Two people, both in the Lower Mainland, died due to the virus over the weekend

A passer-by walks past a COVID-19 testing clinic in Montreal, Friday, Oct. 16, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz
Canada ‘yet to see’ deaths due to recent COVID surge as cases hit 200,000

Much of the increase in case numbers can be attributed to Ontario and Quebec

Police confirm human remains were found in a recycling bin in Vancouver on Oct. 18, 2020. (Black Press Media file photo)
Human remains found in recycling bin floating near Vancouver beach

Police asking nearby residents to see if their recycling bin has gone missing

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

(File photo)
RCMP: Two men face charges in reported Parksville fatal hit-and-run

Investigation into man’s death began in August of 2019

B.C. Liberal leader Andrew Wilkinson visits a North Vancouver daycare to announce his party’s election promises for child care, Oct. 9, 2020. (B.C. Liberal Party video)
B.C. parties pitch costly child care programs in pandemic

B.C. Liberals say they’ll deliver on NDP’s $10-a-day promise for lower-income families

A B.C. man decided to create a website to help people find family doctors accepting patients. Because Victoria is considered high-demand, clinic openings can’t be posted publicly. (Unsplash)
Vancouver Island man starts website that connects B.C. residents with doctors

Nanaimo man started project to help people find family physicians accepting patients

Most Read