Heritage

A towering structure of girders marks the spot where Imperial Cannery used to be located along the Steveston Waterfront. Marine industrial machinery and other material have been incorporated into the Lower Mainland community’s boardwalk. (SUSAN QUINN/ Alberni Valley News)

QUINN’S QUIPS: Steveston is a perfect blend of history and trendiness

This is something that could be done here in Port Alberni

 

The Site C Dam location is seen along the Peace River in Fort St. John, B.C., Tuesday, April 18, 2017. A United Nations agency says Canada’s largest national park is now so threatened that it could likely be placed on the list of World Heritage sites in danger. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

Alberta’s Wood Buffalo National Park nears endangered status

UNESCO says industry, poor governance ‘likely’ endanger Canadian World Heritage site

 

Trooper Douglas Mar (family name Mah) of Port Alberni, pictured in his Royal Canadian Forces uniform in 1944, is Robinson (Rob) Mah's brother. (PHOTO COURTESY MAH FAMILY)

QUINN’S QUIPS: Second Mah brother known for efforts in Second World War

Douglas Mah was part of secret unit of Chinese Canadian soldiers

 

(Historica Canada)

VIDEO: Heritage Minute marks 100th anniversary of work to discover insulin

Video centres on Leonard Thompson, 13, the first patient to receive successful injections for Type 1 diabetes

(Historica Canada)
A group of men in dress slacks, high collars, ties and tails, poses underneath an arching banner that says: “ALBERNI FIRE DEPT”. The sign features two leather firefighters’ helmets that were used during that time period. One of four celebrations at Alberni Fire Department held each year, (Halloween, New Years, July 1st and May Day), this may be a New Year’s Dance. The photo was taken in the Alberni Athletic Hall—possibly the old Athletic Hall (location of rescue hall and tennis courts). The men are identified from L-R: Dick Burke; Cameron Duff; D. Miles; P. Miles; Will Paul; E. White; George Forrest; Jock Redford; J. Forrest; G. Blady; E. McKay. The Alberni Valley Museum’s online photo archives are available to the public at https://portalberni.pastperfectonline.com. (PHOTO PN06546)

LOOK BACK: The Alberni Valley’s first fire department

Take a peek back into history with the Alberni Valley Museum

A group of men in dress slacks, high collars, ties and tails, poses underneath an arching banner that says: “ALBERNI FIRE DEPT”. The sign features two leather firefighters’ helmets that were used during that time period. One of four celebrations at Alberni Fire Department held each year, (Halloween, New Years, July 1st and May Day), this may be a New Year’s Dance. The photo was taken in the Alberni Athletic Hall—possibly the old Athletic Hall (location of rescue hall and tennis courts). The men are identified from L-R: Dick Burke; Cameron Duff; D. Miles; P. Miles; Will Paul; E. White; George Forrest; Jock Redford; J. Forrest; G. Blady; E. McKay. The Alberni Valley Museum’s online photo archives are available to the public at https://portalberni.pastperfectonline.com. (PHOTO PN06546)
The Port Alberni Train Station is located outside the entrance to Harbour Quay, on Harbour Road in Port Alberni. (AV NEWS FILE PHOTO)

Port Alberni gets funding to restore heritage train station

Historic train station needs seismic upgrades

The Port Alberni Train Station is located outside the entrance to Harbour Quay, on Harbour Road in Port Alberni. (AV NEWS FILE PHOTO)
A leather firefighter helmet from the Alberni Fire Department, circa 1950, has been ‘adopted’ by the Port Alberni Professional Firefighters’ Association as part of a unique program at the Alberni Valley Museum. (SUSAN QUINN/ Alberni Valley News)

Port Alberni firefighters adopt a piece of their heritage from AV Museum

Historic helmet is part of a new Adopt an Artefact program

A leather firefighter helmet from the Alberni Fire Department, circa 1950, has been ‘adopted’ by the Port Alberni Professional Firefighters’ Association as part of a unique program at the Alberni Valley Museum. (SUSAN QUINN/ Alberni Valley News)
The mystery of the Sun Editorial door at the Alberni Valley News office on Napier Street has been solved. (ELENA RARDON / ALBERNI VALLEY NEWS)

QUINN’S QUIPS: The mysterious tale of the glass Sun door

Or how a small team from Port Alberni pillaged the old Sun building

The mystery of the Sun Editorial door at the Alberni Valley News office on Napier Street has been solved. (ELENA RARDON / ALBERNI VALLEY NEWS)
Built in 1888, the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, in Banff National Park, has a long and storied history.

An Ambassador’s Guide to Banff: Exploring Local History

Planning for future travels: From Banff’s birthplace to this iconic hotel, there’s lots to discover

  • Nov 24, 2020
Built in 1888, the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, in Banff National Park, has a long and storied history.
For the first time in two years, the No. 7 steam train steamed up and passed inspection. The locomotive has been out of commission since 2018. (PHOTO COURTESY WVI INDUSTRIAL HERITAGE SOCIETY))

No. 7 Baldwin locomotive steams up for first time in two years

Port Alberni-based steam locie has been dormant since a boiler problem halted train trips

For the first time in two years, the No. 7 steam train steamed up and passed inspection. The locomotive has been out of commission since 2018. (PHOTO COURTESY WVI INDUSTRIAL HERITAGE SOCIETY))
Unbuilders owner Adam Corneil with employee Erin Watkins in front of a deconstructed hearth. Unbuilders crews carefully deconstruct old homes to rescue as many reusable materials as possible, including old-growth timber. (Unbuilders photo)

B.C. deconstruction company ignites Dragons’ Den interest

Unbuilders deconstructs and salvages old buildings instead of sending them to landfill

Unbuilders owner Adam Corneil with employee Erin Watkins in front of a deconstructed hearth. Unbuilders crews carefully deconstruct old homes to rescue as many reusable materials as possible, including old-growth timber. (Unbuilders photo)
Port Alberni’s Train Station is located on Kingsway Avenue. (AV NEWS FILE PHOTO)

Port Alberni applies for funding to upgrade historic train station

Provincial grant would alleviate tax burden while bringing heritage building up to code

Port Alberni’s Train Station is located on Kingsway Avenue. (AV NEWS FILE PHOTO)
Kay Gordon ‘Soup’ Campbell, pictured in 2012, is being remembered for his love of his community. (ALBERNI VALLEY NEWS FILE PHOTO)

Soup Campbell leaves behind a legacy in Port Alberni

A small parade of vintage trucks and Model A Fords took to the streets on Sept. 5

Kay Gordon ‘Soup’ Campbell, pictured in 2012, is being remembered for his love of his community. (ALBERNI VALLEY NEWS FILE PHOTO)
The Port Alberni Train Station is located outside the entrance to Harbour Quay, on Harbour Road in Port Alberni. (AV NEWS FILE PHOTO)

QUINN’S QUIPS: What makes a building historically significant?

There’s a difference between heritage designation and a heritage register

The Port Alberni Train Station is located outside the entrance to Harbour Quay, on Harbour Road in Port Alberni. (AV NEWS FILE PHOTO)
Sweeping landscapes like Dune Za Keyih Provincial Park beckon visitors to BC’s northern reaches. Taylor Burk photo.

Experience BC’s Northern Wild, Nature on a Whole New Scale

Discover glacial valleys, soaring mountain peaks and wildlife parks in BC’s northern reaches

  • Jul 6, 2020
Sweeping landscapes like Dune Za Keyih Provincial Park beckon visitors to BC’s northern reaches. Taylor Burk photo.
Sweeping ranchlands, grassy vistas and golden plateaus await in BC’s interior. Blake Jorgenson photo.

Rivers, Ranches and Ranges: From Historic Sites to Wilderness Adventure

Experience some of BC’s history this summer

  • Jul 6, 2020
Sweeping ranchlands, grassy vistas and golden plateaus await in BC’s interior. Blake Jorgenson photo.
The fear of selling a century-old home in B.C.

The fear of selling a century-old home in B.C.

Homeowner worries a piece of Abbotsford’s heritage will be lost if lot is redeveloped

The fear of selling a century-old home in B.C.
On Oct. 31, 2019 Angela Andersen, director at the Wentworth Villa Architectural Heritage Museum, showed off the mummified cat found in the building’s back yard. The building was built in 1862 and belonged to the Ella family for 80 years. (Nicole Crescenzi/News Staff)

Mummified cat found in heritage Victoria home

The owners of the Wentworth Villa Architectural Heritage Museum made an interesting discovery

On Oct. 31, 2019 Angela Andersen, director at the Wentworth Villa Architectural Heritage Museum, showed off the mummified cat found in the building’s back yard. The building was built in 1862 and belonged to the Ella family for 80 years. (Nicole Crescenzi/News Staff)