museums-and-galleries

Several longshoremen are seen working on the deck of a lumber ship on Port Alberni’s harbourfront, circa 1961. The men are identified as: Bert Wahlberg, from left, Dan Dobie (holding a board), unknown, John Luzza, John Gillbanks, Art Dube, Jack Sherwood and Jack Nayler (front right). This photo is one of 24,000 in the Alberni Valley Museum’s online archives, available for viewing at https://portalberni.pastperfectonline.com. (PHOTO PN06814 COURTESY ALBERNI VALLEY MUSEUM)

A LOOK BACK: Longshoremen at Port Alberni’s waterfront

Take a peek at history with the Alberni Valley Museum

 

The crew that built the first fish ladder at Stamp Falls, circa 1925: back row, from left are Jack Plaunt, Johnny Manuel, Ernie Gingello, Jack Gorman. Front row, from left, are Walker Greene, ‘Colonel’ Hunt (government engineer), Tom Maher, Jim Wilkinson and Joe Drinkwater (foreman). This photo is one of 24,000 in the Alberni Valley Museum’s online digital archives. There are several photos of the fish ladder crew in the archives. (PHOTO PN06001 COURTESY ALBERNI VALLEY MUSEUM)

LOOK BACK: The men who built the first Stamp Falls fish ladder

Delve into Alberni Valley history with the Alberni Valley Museum online

 

Port Alberni’s first clock tower was at the Dominion Government Building (post office) on Third Avenue at Angus Street. The clock tower was visible to anyone in the commercial area. Inside the post office was another unique clockpiece, made by the Pequegnat Clock Company after 1916. The Canadian Time Wall Clock was advertised as having an eight-day time movement and finished in golden or weathered oak. The price tag was $8.00. This clock is on display in the Household section of the Alberni Valley Museum. (COLLECTION1966.19.1 COURTESY ALBERNI VALLEY MUSEUM)

LOOK BACK: A journey of time in Port Alberni

Take a peek at Port Alberni’s history with the Alberni Valley Museum