Seredick seeks Totem Spirit winners

Jim Seredick is still in search of Totem Spirit winners.

Jim Seredick is still in search of Totem Spirit winners.

Seredick is compiling an anniversary book of all the Totem Spirit winners, to go along with his 50th anniversary book on Port Alberni’s famed Totem basketball tournament.

“To date we have contacted 34 of the 50 former princess/spirit winners,” Seredick said.

“While they have been contacted, most have been slow to respond to confirm whether they will attend the recognition/presentation ceremony. There is a Nov. 21 deadline to confirm.”

The project “is to recognize and celebrate 50 years of having the princess/spirit feature as part of Totem,” Seredick said.

“Over the years it has contributed considerably to the success and longevity of the tournament. I hope as many former Totem Spirit winners as possible will attend the ceremony prior to the feature game on Friday, Jan. 8 and embrace the opportunity to be recognized for their contributions to the team.”

Seredick still needs assistance to find the following: Norma Maguire (1967), Ellinore Baker (1968), Liz St. Jacques (1970), Heather Farris (1974), Lori Madill (1976), Pam Burns (1986), Karen Dowling (1987), Julie Taylor (1989), Kristine McKinnon (1992), Mariee Devereau (1995),  Kevin Schmitz (1996) Crystal Cooley (1998), Lindsay Robertson (2002), Carly Lalonde (2003), Brittany Lothrop (2005).

Any of those people or anyone who might know how to reach those people can contact Seredick by e-mail at